The history of the Faculty of Science is based on the establishment of the “Hacettepe Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences in of a second Faculty of Medicine of Ankara University by Law No. 337 dated 26.09.1963.

The faculty was divided into two faculties which are Faculty of Science and Faculty of Engineering. Thus, the Faculty of Science was established on 23th August 1971, and it consisted of three departments Biology, Mathematics, and Statistics.

In 1992, the Chemistry Department of the Faculty of Engineering was transfered to Science Faculty. In 2002, Actuarial Science Department was established.